Is it Possible to Edit or Delete an Email After Sending?

Let's face it, we have all been there. The mail is composed, and before we even had a chance to recheck everything, our impulsive mind takes over and the send button is clicked. Only a few seconds later you realize that you sent the mail to a different address, or that you CC'd it to someone who was not supposed to see the mail. So what do you do in this situation? Is there a way to stop you email from being sent once you hit the send button?

Well, yes that is possible but only in-case you were using an email service that offers this functionality like Pluto Mail or if you had the UnDo mail enabled in your Gmail account.

Pluto Mail

Pluto mail is an email service with features that allow you to unsend an email anytime, edit sent emails and even track email opening times. Pluto mail claims that it works with any email client including Gmail and Apple Mail and that recipients do not have to be using Pluto to read emails you send them. This means you can link your Gmail account to your Pluto mail account and the recipient will only be able to see your Gmail address.

This is definitely an innovative service worth checking out. The only problem is that they currently put you on a waiting list because of an overwhelming demand. Check out Pluto mail by visiting:

Gmail's UnDo Email Feature

Gmail offers an innovative featured known as 'UnDo Email' which when activated can actually let you undo and then delete or edit an email that you sent if you act quickly enough; in this case, within 10 seconds. But the 10 second window is way too less and there no workaround that allows you to increase this duration. Anycase, this can still be a life saver so let's see how to activate this feature in your Gmail account.

Activating UnDo Mail Feature:

Step 1: Login to your Gmail account.
Step 2: Click the gear like icon located in the top right hand corner and click 'Settings'.
Step 3: Once on the Settings page, Click 'Labs'.
Step 4: Scroll down until you find the 'Undo Send' feature and 'Enable' it.
Step 5: Scroll to the bottom of the page and click 'Save Changes'.

Now every time you finish sending your email message, you will see an 'Undo' link (as shown in image below) which will appear for about 10 seconds. If you hit this button within a period of 10 seconds you email will not be sent to the recipient. You can then make necessary edits and resend the mail or simply delete the mail.


It's true that this is not the best thing around, but it has definitely helped me and it's definitely worth enabling as a preventive measure. Hopefully Gmail adds more functionality to this feature in the future.